The Life of Composer Ara Sevanian

(ISBN: 978-0-9792867-0-4)
Shareage Press (Publisher)
2007 Moorpark
106 pages
Size: 7 1/4" x 10 1/4"
Language(s): English

Additional Artists

Ara Sevanian (Composer)

"Kanon" is as explosive as the music that developed out of the 20th century revolutions, wars, and genocide. Composer Ara Sevanian explains, "My music sad, because my life sad." Through his memoir, Sevanian proves his teacher's words, "To create beautiful music you have to suffer." During Sevanian's years of dedication to a distinctly contemporary sound, revolution undermines his competition successes. War thwarts his emerging career. Genocide wrests painful motifs from his soul. Ara's professional career, begun in Yerevan, Armenian takes Russia by storm with "Hejaz," impresses Nazi Europe with "Protest," and stuns America with the "Adagio Cantabile." Nine symphonies lates the aging composer boasts of those who made his career possible. From the German commandant who saved him from death to his best friend, composer Aram Khachaturian, Ara thanks his audience for their ongoing support. Revealing the heart of a musician, "Kanon" is a must-read for music lovers everywhere.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Kanon